Understanding probabel GxE interaction output

Questions about ProbABEL are welcome here.
Forum rules
Please remember not to post any sensitive data on this public forum.
The first few posts of newly registered users will be moderated in order to filter out any spammers.

When get a solution to the problem you posted, please change the topic name (e.g. from "how to ..." to "[SOLVED] how to ..."). This will make it easier for the community to follow the posts yet to be attended.
agiri_genepi

Understanding probabel GxE interaction output

Postby agiri_genepi » Thu May 21, 2015 8:36 pm

Hello, I'm new to GenABEL and ProbABEL. I'm using ProbABEL at the moment, however, I'm a little confused about the output.

Say for example I'm fitting the following model:
y ~ m + cov1 + cov2 + E + SNP + SNP*E ------ (model 1)

What I'm really interested in is testing if the SNP*E is statistically significant. Normally, I would do a likelihood ratio test by subtracting the -2 log likelihoods of the full model (model 1) with a reduced model (model 2 below) to obtain a chi-square statistic with 1 degree of freedom.

y ~ m + cov1 + cov2 + E + SNP ------ (model 2)

I fit the full model (model 1). The output for ProbABEL provides a chi2_SNP statistic. I'm assuming that this is the chi-squared statistic from the LRT comparing the full model as I fit above with a null (no covariate) model (NOT to be confused with the reduced model)... is this correct? Verification of this would be helpful.

So if I wanted a p-value for the SNP*E interaction term comparing nested models (full - reduced) to get the LRT, how would I go about getting it with ProbABEL? (other than simply doing beta_SNP*E/se_SNP*E, which would be equivalent to doing a wald test)

Is it appropriate to fit model 1 then model 2 and then subtract the chi2_SNP values to get the SNP*E chi2 for 1 degree of freedom?

Thank you for your help.

wentingwu

Re: Understanding probabel GxE interaction output