ProbABEL memory allocation malloc mmap

Questions about ProbABEL are welcome here.
Forum rules
Please remember not to post any sensitive data on this public forum.
The first few posts of newly registered users will be moderated in order to filter out any spammers.

When get a solution to the problem you posted, please change the topic name (e.g. from "how to ..." to "[SOLVED] how to ..."). This will make it easier for the community to follow the posts yet to be attended.
manondelahaye

ProbABEL memory allocation malloc mmap

Postby manondelahaye » Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:22 am

Hi,
I am a french PhD student working at the International Agency for Research on Cancer. We are currently using probabel for association analysis.
I run imputation using mach.

I could run ProbABEL easily for chromosomes 19,20,21,22 but got into trouble for chromosomes 18 to 1. We are running on both a MacOSX machine and a linux cluster, both 64bits.
We compiled the source code with the –m64 flag to get a 64 bits version.

However when running chromosome 18 (for example) I get an error like
palogist(827) malloc: *** mmap(size=18446744066193199104) failed
(error code=12)
*** error: can't allocate region
*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
mematrix(nr,nc): cannot allocate memory (6926,348813)

Do you have any idea where that can come from ? Thanks a lot for your help.
Regards,
DELAHAYE Manon

P.S
Some additional information

For chromosome 18 (smallest one of the ones that do not work), we have 348813 SNPs and 7006 individuals.
probABEL version :
- ProbABEL v. 0.1-9c (September 01, 2010) on my machine
- ProbABEL v. 0.1-3 (Nov 11, 2009) on the cluster
RAM available : up to 48Go on the cluster, 12Go on my MacOSX machine.

Thank you very much.

yurii
GenABEL developer
GenABEL developer

Re: ProbABEL memory allocation malloc mmap

Postby yurii » Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:34 pm

what is the exact command you run ProbABEL with?